AmandaJaneDesigner

Costume and Graphic Design

Wraith Queen – Finished!

1 Comment

The fingers are tired, and the job is done! My Wraith Queen walked the halls of Grant MacEwan University for the Pure Speculation Festival.

That was about three months of work! I can only imagine how long I am going to have to work on my Queen of Hearts to get her the way I want! Now that my wraith is done (for now) I will be focusing my attention back to that monumental task of sewing that big ol’ dress! And it’s disaster crinoline!

A guess the make up warrants a closer look.

I have trouble with prosthetics, getting horrible rashes from the adhesive if I use it on my face. Past experiences with Klingon ridges taught me that one! Ideally, I would love to have had the little slits done in latex, as well as my brow bone. I tried my best with what I had to lighten the eyebrows, but with my dark hair that was going to be difficult.
I must say though, the shading turned out very well! It almost looks real! Admittedly, I did practice on the back of my hand several times with different colours to get the right combination before attempting this on my face!

I would say that all in all, this was a huge success! I see all the little flaws in it because I put them there, and either didn’t know how, or didn’t have time to fix them. Mostly the time thing… I strongly believe that given enough time you can figure out anything! There were a few late nights in that last week!

One little request??…. If anyone was at Pure Spec, or knows someone who was, who has pictures of my Wraith, can you please get in touch with me? This is the only pic I have! I didn’t stick around for the costume contest, because of other commitments, so I have had no luck yet in finding any shots! Thanks so much!

Author: DizineGrl

Designer, Creator, Cat Lady, Builder of Cool Things, Dancer, Lover of Music.

One thought on “Wraith Queen – Finished!

  1. ::: Applauds::: This is absolutely fantastic! Definitely cannot wait to see more pictures of this outfit. The white outfit with the red hair is perfect! You definitely are a commanding Queen.Massive kudos. ~Lady B

Leave a comment